Welcome!

Welcome to my blog! This will be a space for me to share my latest research findings, gripping tales of fieldwork adventures, and general experiences as a researcher. “But Kylie”, I hear you say, “you’re already two years into your PhD on evaluating the effectiveness of road crossing structures for arboreal mammals. What took you so long to start a blog?” That’s an excellent question, anonymous reader, thanks for asking.

Admittedly, it’s taken me a while to work my way into the social media scene (shock horror! A Gen Y without a twitter account!), but I tend not to jump into decisions without having a good think about them (simply buying toothpaste can be incapacitating). There were two nagging thoughts to overcome –

1) What could I possibly have to say that would be profound enough to interest other people?
I’ve since remembered that the internet is not a sacred space reserved for only the most intellectual (just search ‘fail’ on YouTube). So why let the nitwits have all the fun?

2) Wouldn’t my time be better spent writing my thesis, doing that analysis or churning out a paper?
Well, maybe…but if writing about your research doesn’t qualify as ‘productive procrastination’ then I don’t know what does. It’s right up there with doing the washing or re-organising your desk, and is certainly better than checking your email for the 50th time (or searching ‘fail’ on YouTube). In my experience, writing leads to clearer thinking, which leads to clearer writing and so on and so forth. In short, any time spent writing is time well spent.

So, after perhaps too much consideration, I’ve started a blog and jumped into twitter. Stay tuned as this page grows. For now, you can check out the ‘About’ section for my contact details and some general info on my work. I’ll leave you with a pic of my study species, the Squirrel Glider, doing what it does best.

Squirrel Glider – falling, with style

Leave a Reply

